

THE AUDIO ENGINEERING SOCIETY

BULLETIN



JANUARY 2009

2008-2009 **AES TORONTO SECTION EXECUTIVE**

Chairman Jeff Bamford

> **Engineering Harmonics** (416) 465-3378

Vice Chairman Sv Potma

Fanshawe College, MIA 519-452-4430 x.4973

Recording Secretary/

Robert Breen

OIART

Past Chair (519) 686-5010

Treasurer Mike Borlace

> Kinescope Productions (905) 891-0402

Membership Jim Cox

(905) 845-4620

Marketing **Keith Gordon**

(905) 635-8202

Bulletin Editor Earl McCluskie

Chestnut Hall Music (519) 894-5308

COMMITTEE **MEMBERS**

(519) 696-8950 **Peter Cook**

CBC Records

(416) 205-2317

David Dysart

(416) 867-9000

Dan Mombourquette

DM Services

Paul Reibling

(519) 745-1158

Denis Tremblay

IMAX Corporation (905)

403-6500

The Toronto AES Section Bulletin is published ten times yearly by the Audio Engineering Society Toronto Section and is available on the Internet at www.TorontoAES.org

Submissions are welcome. Articles may be reprinted with the author's permission. Space is available for AES related companies and individuals wishing to address our members. For submissions, advertising rates or other infoemail TorontoAES@TorontoAES.org.

AES Toronto appreciates the continuing support of RYERSON UNIVERSITY

A Toronto Section 40th Anniversary Retrospective **Electronic Music in Toronto and Canada in** the Analogue Era

date time where

Tuesday, 27 January 2008 7:00 PM

Walter Hall, Edward Johnson Building, Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, 80 Queens Park, Toronto (Walkway located south of Royal Ontario Museum off Avenue Rd./Queen's Park Cresc.)

Pre-meeting dinner, 5:00 p.m. at Duke of York, 39 Prince Arthur Ave., 5:00 p.m.

PRESENTATION

From the early 1960's the University of Toronto was in the vanguard of electronic music in North America. We will look at the progress from the tape loops and signal generators of the time, the contribution of Hugh LeCaine at the National Research Council to the leading-edge technology of the time, and the development of the analogue synthesizer by the end of that decade.

This era changed our understanding of musical creativity and expression and greatly expanded the tools and techniques that became the "studio as instrument" and that now reside on our computers.

PRESENTERS

David Jaeger is a music producer, composer, broadcaster and a co-founder of the Canadian Electronic Ensemble. At CBC Radio he created the new music program "Two New Hours." David was the first non-European President of the International Rostrum of Composers

Dennis Patrick is a member of the Theory and Composition Division of the Faculty of Music and is the Director of the Electroacoustic Music Studio. He frequently composes music for CBC radio dramas.

Peter Jermyn was keyboard player who formed The Modern Rock Quartet. He helped to design a new musical instrument, the Sackbut, with Dr Hugh LeCaine from the National Research Council. He did freelance TV work and film soundtracks, and represented Roland musical instruments.

Dean Batute owns Kyron Music, a business devoted entirely to the repair and preservation of vintage synthesizers. Clients include Gordon Lightfoot, Daniel Lanois and the late Oscar Peterson.

Norma Beecroft is a renowned Canadian composer noted for her electronic music compositions. The list of her compositions with tape is quite extensive, including the ballet "Hedda" commissioned by the National Ballet of Canada. Her activities included a lengthy career in broadcasting, teaching at York University, and cofounder (with Robert Aitken) and general manager of new Music Concerts in Toronto from 1972-1989.

For more detailed bio information, goto www.torontoaes.org